Girls on the Run

Pigtails swinging back and forth, my scrawny legs moved faster as I closed in on the finish line––completing my goal of finishing a 5k. Now as a senior and Girls On The Run coach, I encourage young girls to achieve that same goal. Through this program I aim not only to help girls complete this race, but also to instill the importance of self-confidence and a healthy lifestyle. But the greatest reward is knowing that I have helped form this support system in which every girl can feel like they have a friend.

I began coaching Girls On The Run when I was a sophomore. The minute I walked through the doors to the elementary school gym, I fell in love with the program. Bright-eyed with smiles painted across each of their little faces, my team and I began our 10-week journey together. Not only did these girls become stronger runners, but they became stronger-minded. The importance of a positive attitude, or eating healthy, or a positive body image are just a few of the lessons we instill during the Girls On The Run program. At the end of our 10 weeks, we are sad to leave each other, but each of the girls will keep a lasting place in my heart.

For more information on Girls on the Run:

https://www.girlsontherun.org/

http://www.uwsm.org/girlsontherun/

One thought on “Girls on the Run

  1. I didn’t know you coached Girls On the Run, how inspiring. It’s nice to see it from the perspective of the coach since I only did it as a runner.

    Like

Leave a comment