Jamaica – Photo Post

Over the past six days, Hurricane Matthew has been developing in the Caribbean. I have always known that hurricanes are common and expected at this time of year, but have never been affected by them since I live in southwest Michigan. To me, hurricanes were just something that I would see on TV, or hear about donating items or money to, but I never had an emotional connection to a place that a hurricane hit.

Last year on spring break, I had the wonderful opportunity to travel to the small island of Jamaica. The week was filled with sun bathing on the beach, snorkeling through coral reefs, and sail boat rides at sunset. Swimming with dolphins, horseback riding through the Caribbean Sea, and jumping into crystal clear waterfalls in the rainforest are some of the adventures I will never forget. This trip to Jamaica was one of the highlights of my high school career, and I hope to someday return to the beautiful island. As I watch the news and weather channels about this devastating hurricane that will possibly hit Jamaica, all I can do is hope that there’s not too much damage done. Realizing that the beautiful beaches, palm trees, and homes could possibly be destroyed is heartbreaking. More importantly, I hope that all of the happy Jamaican people and families I had the opportunity to meet are all safe.

** REVISION ** Luckily, Jamaica didn’t end up getting hit by the hurricane!

For more information on the path of Hurricane Matthew:

https://weather.com/storms/hurricane/news/hurricane-matthew-bahamas-florida-georgia-carolinas-forecast

http://www.popularmechanics.com/science/environment/g2805/hurricane-matthew-destruction-photos/

personal photo used

Leave a comment